Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2018

Dreams are a map created by our brain from the fragments of reality. Our brains are incredibly creative problem solvers and some parts are most active while we are asleep. Dreams form an important part of one’s identity and behavior. Although dreams are considered to be extremely personal and are difficult to talk about, they directly correlate with reality. Problems, solutions, fears and behavioral patterns are highlighted through recurring dreams. However, this enormous database with infinite potential is lost because we do not have a good method of recording or understanding them. People undergo a lot of stress and trauma trying to deal with these recurring dreams. What would happen if we remembered and learned to make sense of it? What if the unconscious could influence and help determine the conscious?

Umbra is a platform that makes dreams universal by initiating conversations and creating a community of dreams divided by categories predominantly for people with PTSD, ODC, epilepsy, or anxiety. A gradually escalating alarm slowly transitions you from the unconscious to a hypnopompic stage enabling you to remember and record your dreams. It normalizes the stress and trauma faced by presenting the user with dreams similar to theirs and initiating a conversation between the dreamers. With a continuously expanding database, dreams can be openly shared creating communities based on similar experiences of the users. Umbra strives to encourage the act of being open with dreams because one single dream entry can easily be a large support system to someone else.

Maxine Joy Almendra

Daniela Al-Saleh

Amon Dario Appelt

Shruti Ashok

Whitney Badge

Jaire Berkel

Ingrid Bonetti

Victoria Boyd

Madison Bozinoff

Malulani Bria

Kaylin Brown

Rachel Brownjohn

Olive Burd

Germán Castellanos Reyes

Madeline Cericola

Vicky Chau

Amber Chen

Victor Chen

Wendy Ching

Connie Chu

Channon Chung

Leonardo Cilmi

Emma T. Conway

Nicole Corso

Qamile Dani

Magdalena de la Torre Suárez

Amanda Ericson

Dan Feldman

Anna Feng

Natalia Flores

Peter Frasco

Lucia Garza

Mariana Gaviria

Mikey Hefez

Adrianna Hinsey

Avinash Hirdaramani

Marielle Holland

Grace Hong

Surkho Shane Hong

Pauline Hotelier

Dylan Hughes

Jiyoung Hwang

Sonali Jain

Andrea S. Jassir

Christina Jenkins

Maria Jessica

Erin Johnston

Javarius Jones

Yea Ji Jung

Rachel Kahn

Anastasia Kharchenko

Jonathan Haojaq Kho

Alexa Kim

Cindy Dawon Kim

Sang Dennis Kim

Somin Kim

Yoonji Kim

Kyungmin Ko

Sidney Law

Kevin Lee

Jane Lee

Matheus Dal Santo Lewis Sage Smith

Kristiana Marcon

Hannah Marshall

Kruti Mehta

Gabriel Mester

Charlotte Miller

Mintra Morrison

Tamir Moses

Kaisha Murzamadiyeva

Thomas Nghia Nguyen

Lanie Nowak

Satoe Onizuka

Steven Orts

Owen Pace

Tatyana Palacios

Herin Park

Olga Pavlova

Luli Peralta-Esquivel

Lindsay Petricca

Constanza Pinto

Shreya Razak

Costanza Reiser

Vincent Riportella

Bateel Saber

Ahana Seth

Cristina Soberon

Rebecca Speiser

Natalia Spotts

Sabrina Steck

JD Stephenson Jr.

Richard Supriano

Eden Tartour

Jissaura Taveras Hernandez

Nathalia Tello Arias

Liz Tsai

Altyn Turdukulova

Amena Tyebji

Gabriela Vieira

Juan Diego Villegas

Yige Wang

Evelyn Wu

Jessie Yao

Crystal Yin

Rebecca Jiayi Zhou