Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2018

Maxine Joy Almendra

While Filipinos make up one of the largest Asian ethnic groups in America, they are often referred to as the “invisible minority.” This is a result of hundreds of years of Western colonization and the absence of Filipinos’ own cultural history in American textbooks.

My thesis, Kultura, is a collection of projects that explores Filipino-American history in print and digital form. Each project in Kultura aims to educate young Filipino-Americans about historical events and aspects of Filipino culture they did not know about before. Young Filipino-Americans can get these projects in a Kultura Box by signing up on the Kultura website and receiving it in the mail. After experiencing the box and learning from the different projects, they can submit their own personal history to be featured on the website.

By designing the Kultura projects in different forms such as pins and small booklets, I communicate the serious topics of forgotten history in a more friendly and shareable way in order to target a younger audience. The mix of traditional Filipino colors and motifs contrasted with modern typefaces and mediums expresses the link between Filipino history and current Western culture.

With Kultura, I hope to make visible the many accomplishments and struggles that Filipinos have faced throughout America and remind Filipino-Americans of the indigenous culture that once existed. By sharing this cultural history, future generations of young Filipino-Americans can reclaim their identity and start to write their own history for years
to come.

Maxine Joy Almendra

Daniela Al-Saleh

Amon Dario Appelt

Shruti Ashok

Whitney Badge

Jaire Berkel

Ingrid Bonetti

Victoria Boyd

Madison Bozinoff

Malulani Bria

Kaylin Brown

Rachel Brownjohn

Olive Burd

Germán Castellanos Reyes

Madeline Cericola

Vicky Chau

Amber Chen

Victor Chen

Wendy Ching

Connie Chu

Channon Chung

Leonardo Cilmi

Emma T. Conway

Nicole Corso

Qamile Dani

Magdalena de la Torre Suárez

Amanda Ericson

Dan Feldman

Anna Feng

Natalia Flores

Peter Frasco

Lucia Garza

Mariana Gaviria

Mikey Hefez

Adrianna Hinsey

Avinash Hirdaramani

Marielle Holland

Grace Hong

Surkho Shane Hong

Pauline Hotelier

Dylan Hughes

Jiyoung Hwang

Sonali Jain

Andrea S. Jassir

Christina Jenkins

Maria Jessica

Erin Johnston

Javarius Jones

Yea Ji Jung

Rachel Kahn

Anastasia Kharchenko

Jonathan Haojaq Kho

Alexa Kim

Cindy Dawon Kim

Sang Dennis Kim

Somin Kim

Yoonji Kim

Kyungmin Ko

Sidney Law

Kevin Lee

Jane Lee

Matheus Dal Santo Lewis Sage Smith

Kristiana Marcon

Hannah Marshall

Kruti Mehta

Gabriel Mester

Charlotte Miller

Mintra Morrison

Tamir Moses

Kaisha Murzamadiyeva

Thomas Nghia Nguyen

Lanie Nowak

Satoe Onizuka

Steven Orts

Owen Pace

Tatyana Palacios

Herin Park

Olga Pavlova

Luli Peralta-Esquivel

Lindsay Petricca

Constanza Pinto

Shreya Razak

Costanza Reiser

Vincent Riportella

Bateel Saber

Ahana Seth

Cristina Soberon

Rebecca Speiser

Natalia Spotts

Sabrina Steck

JD Stephenson Jr.

Richard Supriano

Eden Tartour

Jissaura Taveras Hernandez

Nathalia Tello Arias

Liz Tsai

Altyn Turdukulova

Amena Tyebji

Gabriela Vieira

Juan Diego Villegas

Yige Wang

Evelyn Wu

Jessie Yao

Crystal Yin

Rebecca Jiayi Zhou