Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2018

Sign’o & Sign’post
Jonathan Haojaq Kho

New tech and media is evidently benefitting our lives, but is this the same case for underrepresented communities, specifically the deaf community? The world is rarely designed for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing (HoH). To illustrate this lag in equal access, Siri took up to six years to accept text-based input as an option. In other words, there has always been a barrier for the deaf in accessing digital personal assistants. The deaf should not have to trail behind the tech movement because of their differences.

Sign’o & Sign’post are products that leverage tech to introduce new ways of communicating: the former targeting text-messaging and the latter targeting linguistic development. Sign’o is an animated sticker pack that contains animated illustrations, featuring several words in American Sign Language (ASL)—the primary language used by North American deaf communities. On the other hand, Sign’post is a web platform that acts as a catalyst for the adoption of new words into ASL by crowdsourcing input from the Deaf, where users can come to a consensus by upvoting and downvoting a sign.

One of the many goals of this project is to inspire more individuals to tap into accessible design. As designers, we should empathize with one another, see the world from another’s perspective, and strive to be inclusive in our designs in hopes of providing value in others’ lives.

Maxine Joy Almendra

Daniela Al-Saleh

Amon Dario Appelt

Shruti Ashok

Whitney Badge

Jaire Berkel

Ingrid Bonetti

Victoria Boyd

Madison Bozinoff

Malulani Bria

Kaylin Brown

Rachel Brownjohn

Olive Burd

Germán Castellanos Reyes

Madeline Cericola

Vicky Chau

Amber Chen

Victor Chen

Wendy Ching

Connie Chu

Channon Chung

Leonardo Cilmi

Emma T. Conway

Nicole Corso

Qamile Dani

Magdalena de la Torre Suárez

Amanda Ericson

Dan Feldman

Anna Feng

Natalia Flores

Peter Frasco

Lucia Garza

Mariana Gaviria

Mikey Hefez

Adrianna Hinsey

Avinash Hirdaramani

Marielle Holland

Grace Hong

Surkho Shane Hong

Pauline Hotelier

Dylan Hughes

Jiyoung Hwang

Sonali Jain

Andrea S. Jassir

Christina Jenkins

Maria Jessica

Erin Johnston

Javarius Jones

Yea Ji Jung

Rachel Kahn

Anastasia Kharchenko

Jonathan Haojaq Kho

Alexa Kim

Cindy Dawon Kim

Sang Dennis Kim

Somin Kim

Yoonji Kim

Kyungmin Ko

Sidney Law

Kevin Lee

Jane Lee

Matheus Dal Santo Lewis Sage Smith

Kristiana Marcon

Hannah Marshall

Kruti Mehta

Gabriel Mester

Charlotte Miller

Mintra Morrison

Tamir Moses

Kaisha Murzamadiyeva

Thomas Nghia Nguyen

Lanie Nowak

Satoe Onizuka

Steven Orts

Owen Pace

Tatyana Palacios

Herin Park

Olga Pavlova

Luli Peralta-Esquivel

Lindsay Petricca

Constanza Pinto

Shreya Razak

Costanza Reiser

Vincent Riportella

Bateel Saber

Ahana Seth

Cristina Soberon

Rebecca Speiser

Natalia Spotts

Sabrina Steck

JD Stephenson Jr.

Richard Supriano

Eden Tartour

Jissaura Taveras Hernandez

Nathalia Tello Arias

Liz Tsai

Altyn Turdukulova

Amena Tyebji

Gabriela Vieira

Juan Diego Villegas

Yige Wang

Evelyn Wu

Jessie Yao

Crystal Yin

Rebecca Jiayi Zhou