Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2018

Anna Feng

The New School was originally founded in 1919 as The New School for Social Research as an alternative to traditional universities. In A Proposal for An Independent School of Social Science for Men and Women, the founders drafted a manifesto that called for an open curriculum, minimal hierarchy, and free discussion of controversial topics. They criticized outmoded ideologies and argued for a reconsideration of long accepted truths.

Today the New School is proud of and claims to build upon its progressive past, but the majority of the experiences of current students and teachers seem to suggest otherwise. Many have voiced that the New School has strayed away from its founding ideals and has become increasingly corporatized along with the rest of higher-education in the United States. As an attempt to engage with the school community, President Van Zandt and Provost Tim Marshall hold biannual town halls to talk about issues such as institutional diversity and financial planning. Instead of providing any semblance of transparency, the Q&A segments of the town halls reveal the disconnect between the administration’s rhetoric of progressive ideas and their often regressive practices.

By adapting the Situationists’ technique of détournement, I appropriate existing material from the New School to criticize and subvert messages from the university. Town hall recordings, school flyers, and the original New School manifesto are chopped, reconfigured, and overlaid with each other to produce two new bodies of work.

Maxine Joy Almendra

Daniela Al-Saleh

Amon Dario Appelt

Shruti Ashok

Whitney Badge

Jaire Berkel

Ingrid Bonetti

Victoria Boyd

Madison Bozinoff

Malulani Bria

Kaylin Brown

Rachel Brownjohn

Olive Burd

Germán Castellanos Reyes

Madeline Cericola

Vicky Chau

Amber Chen

Victor Chen

Wendy Ching

Connie Chu

Channon Chung

Leonardo Cilmi

Emma T. Conway

Nicole Corso

Qamile Dani

Magdalena de la Torre Suárez

Amanda Ericson

Dan Feldman

Anna Feng

Natalia Flores

Peter Frasco

Lucia Garza

Mariana Gaviria

Mikey Hefez

Adrianna Hinsey

Avinash Hirdaramani

Marielle Holland

Grace Hong

Surkho Shane Hong

Pauline Hotelier

Dylan Hughes

Jiyoung Hwang

Sonali Jain

Andrea S. Jassir

Christina Jenkins

Maria Jessica

Erin Johnston

Javarius Jones

Yea Ji Jung

Rachel Kahn

Anastasia Kharchenko

Jonathan Haojaq Kho

Alexa Kim

Cindy Dawon Kim

Sang Dennis Kim

Somin Kim

Yoonji Kim

Kyungmin Ko

Sidney Law

Kevin Lee

Jane Lee

Matheus Dal Santo Lewis Sage Smith

Kristiana Marcon

Hannah Marshall

Kruti Mehta

Gabriel Mester

Charlotte Miller

Mintra Morrison

Tamir Moses

Kaisha Murzamadiyeva

Thomas Nghia Nguyen

Lanie Nowak

Satoe Onizuka

Steven Orts

Owen Pace

Tatyana Palacios

Herin Park

Olga Pavlova

Luli Peralta-Esquivel

Lindsay Petricca

Constanza Pinto

Shreya Razak

Costanza Reiser

Vincent Riportella

Bateel Saber

Ahana Seth

Cristina Soberon

Rebecca Speiser

Natalia Spotts

Sabrina Steck

JD Stephenson Jr.

Richard Supriano

Eden Tartour

Jissaura Taveras Hernandez

Nathalia Tello Arias

Liz Tsai

Altyn Turdukulova

Amena Tyebji

Gabriela Vieira

Juan Diego Villegas

Yige Wang

Evelyn Wu

Jessie Yao

Crystal Yin

Rebecca Jiayi Zhou