Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2017

Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2017

Sofia Olarra

Components such as emotions, senses and space are innate to any kind of food experience. Through our senses, we interpret food according to the manipulation of color, texture, sound, and smell. This pattern varies, however, depending on past experience or constructs which play with expectation and perception. “The definition of experience relies on the relationship between self and object, where personal interests and beliefs set, partially, the outcome of the experience,” Wright (2005).

With technological advances and innovations, modern times have become more concerned with results rather than journeys. People have become too worried about how to effectively do things, creating a desired perfect outcome, instead of involving themselves in an experience fully. With food, innovations like “Tasty” and others have created a way to quickly communicate recipes and a fast and effective way to create, taking the concept apart from its sensational experience.

Exteroceptive will be an exploration of recipes, redefining and transforming the way viewers experience food while cooking. By incorporating studies in language, menus, graphics, color, and many others, the project will bring the viewer a different experience and approach to the cookbook as we know it. This will involve the exploration of different print formats to communicate these ideas, as well as an exploration of different educational fields, like psychology and linguistics. This study will engage the audience with the content, creating a unique experience that revolutionizes the idea of following a recipe.

Andy Agus

Ameer Akbar

Sherifa El Alfi

Orhan S Awatramani

Evan Badr

Mrinal Bhatia

Yaël Bienenstock

Olivia Brodtman

Adomas Bruzga

Holly Burt

Kiana Caesar

Elizabeth Capreol

Christian Caraballo

Alyson Cardenas

Gabriela Carnabuci

Marjorie Chamberlain

Vanna Chan

Sachi Chandiramani

Leslie Chavez

Katherine Cheng

Emily Cho

Soomin Choi

Hyeree Choi

Talia Cotton

Dorothy Cruz

Katie DeAngelis

Nicole Jane Debler

Dominique DeVito

Megan Dias

Theresa Duemler

Juan Francisco Morales Egas

Michelle Eguia

Audrey Farnsworth

Peter Fowler

Myesha Evon Gardner

Alijah Gilbert

John Hammond

Jin Ju Han

Aimee Hedman

Perla Herrera

Lauren Horsman

Zhiyan Huang

Ji Hea Jang

Urvita Jhaveri

Myles Jones

Cheryl Kao

Phoebe Kennedy

Alice Yeji Kim

Jung Yeon Kim

Thomas Sang Gul Kim

Chewon Kim

Sanggyun Kim

Hansung Kim

Likando Kumoyo

Jang Kyungjun

Josh LaCalamito

Yunjoo Lee

Kyung Sun Lee

SooJi Lee

Meijun Li

Alice Lim

Junya Lin

Yuchen Liu

Kimberly Lombardi

Natalia Malik

Roisin McNulty

Simen L. Meyer

Nikoletta Mitsopoulou

Chloë Murray

Cyrus Nathaniel

David Dahao Ni

Mariana Del Nogal

Sofia Olarra

Kamila Ortiz

Ji Hyun Park

Sara Pena

Melissa S. Peralta

Camille Petricola

Sander Phoenix

Urvi Raghbeer

Andrew Ramirez

Brianna Saba

Stephen Salomon

Julianna Amelia Santolucito

Raida Saveree Sarwar

Ritika Shah

Shui Shan

Jisoo Sim

Lauren Stein

Pei Yu Sun

Shivalika Tandon

Nia Thomas

Laura Tien

Karina Tristandy

Paula Volchok

Djiun Wang

Kyra Wang

Taylor Wasikonis

Junlu Xie

Marie Yamamoto

Jasmine Zhang