Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2013

Round It Forward
Will Warner

Round It Forward is an organization, website and online browser application that makes donating the rounded up total of any online transaction easy to complete. Micro-donations can have a tremendous impact on the people and communities that benefi t from the monies raised by charitable organizations around the world by broadening the contributor base and by making the results of these donations more visible. The defi ning element of this application is the data visualization feature that tracks project success rates derived from the donation as well as the patterns of contributions the user has made. The project differentiates itself from other charity organizations by it’s transparency, trustworthiness, and the user’s ability to choose the charities they want to donate to and what percentage of their money goes to those charities. This is unprecedented among donation facilitators. The transparency and trustworthiness are achieved through weekly project updates from the charities the user is donating to. In addition, visualizations describing (and showing) the progress being made, and the results of their donations are easily viewable by the user. Grand totals and individual totals of money donated, charity projects completed and people helped, will inform the users and increase transparency and their sense of making a difference. Through an evaluation process and system, organizations will only be selected for user donations if they meet the required standards. This project has the potential to change the culture of philanthropy. My fi nal goal is to make donating not just incredibly easy, but almost invisible; second nature and part of people’s every day life.

Jonathan Abbo

Nick Abreu

Silao AJ Afano

Amel Afzal

Jeongkyun Ahn

Frederico Afrange de Andrade

Cynthia Bacall

Piper Black

Shravika Bothra

Zipporah Burman

John Bussiere

Noelle Campbell

Susana Castro

Nate Cepis

Yi-Shan Chang

Lisa Seoyeon Cho

Paul Jay Choe

Sara Chou

Saiq'a S. Chowdhury

Iee Deun Eden Chung

Caitlin Clingman

Evon Coleman

Rachel Cutler

James Czyz

Mae Decena

Stephanie De Jesús

Jonathan De La Rosa

Carlos De León

Kristie DeLouise

Dawa Dolma

Erica Efstratoudakis

Alexis Dawn Ely

Beril Esin

Sofia Falcon

Francisco Flores

Erik Freer

Ying Joyce Fu

Carina Giacomelli

Ermioni Giakou

Isabel Castillo Guijarro

Alex Hack

Shaobo Han

Paulina Ho

Lauren Hodges

Jenny Holt

Vicky Huang

Jess Hutchison

Joanna Izzo

Hasita Kamlesh

Elizabeth Kenney

SoJung Kim

Jihae Kim

Michelle H. Kim

MJ Minjung Kwon

Alleson Lai

Alfred Lam

Yejin Lee

Michael Leng

Christina Lu

Chris Lunney

Maketa Mabane

Amanda Maduri

Sara Maier

Tara Mann

Jenn Martins

Caroline Mathews

Andrew McCausland

Anna McKendrick

Bryan Meador

Melanie Mencarelli

Julio Montás

Jenni Mällinen

Burak Nehbit

My Nguyen

Jacqueline Oh

Melisa Ozkan

Boram Park

Caroline Partridge

Xing Hai Piao

Brenna Pladsen

Stephanie Porzio

Rocco Rada

Jay Ramirez

Joelle Riffle

Elizabeth Rodriguez

Yvonne Romano

Juan Carlos Santos Andrade

Ariel Scala-Perykasz

Shelly Seroussi

Betty Shang

Leslie Shapiro

Jennifer Haesoo Shim

Jeemin Shim

Amos Shin

Ben Shotwell

Robyn Silev

Nika Simovich

Axel Hammarskiöld Spendrup

Lesley Sakinah Steele

Naomi Sundberg

Britt Tapsall

Sabina Telagis

Daniel Bogre Udell

Azalea Vaseghi

Will Warner

Courtney Wells

Belinda Whiteman

Bryce Williams

Anita Wong

Chu-yi Wu

Giselle Nari Wynn

Katherine Yaksich

Kyungwon Yang

Emily Zhong

Michael Zoppo