Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2013

Persistence of Nostalgia
Saiq'a S. Chowdhury

Saiq’a Chowdhury is a Bangladeshi Visual Designer who grew up with a passion for the fine arts, stories, film and animation. She enjoys the use of narrative and narrative systems as a force for expression and challenge. Having lived in three different countries (Bangladesh, Thailand and the US), she is sensi- tive to the fast changing world and its dynamics. Saiq’a lived in Thailand for two years and studied Visual Communications before transferring to Parsons to study Design and Technology. As an illustrator and fine artist, her primary tools of work were first words and pictures and how they blend together. She has grown to work with graphic design, animation, short films, and designed objects that tell stories; she is also the author of a graphic novel called Repercussions of Sin (a work-in-progress). She has worked as photographer-reporter back in Bangladesh, and produces freelance illustration and design assignments whenever time permits. She has worked and interned in companies in Bangladesh and abroad, including Sesame Workshop. Saiq’a enjoys toying around with new art forms that bring to life the myriad landscapes in her mind. She is constantly researching to find unique ways to reach people by using the emotive techniques delivered by well-crafted story structures. The BFADT program helped her discover technologies, nostalgic and futuristic, to create fresh perspectives towards the many interesting attributes of life. She is currently exploring the realm of Media Arche- ology connected to film and animation, which is the key inspiration of her Thesis Project called Persistence of Nostalgia.

Jonathan Abbo

Nick Abreu

Silao AJ Afano

Amel Afzal

Jeongkyun Ahn

Frederico Afrange de Andrade

Cynthia Bacall

Piper Black

Shravika Bothra

Zipporah Burman

John Bussiere

Noelle Campbell

Susana Castro

Nate Cepis

Yi-Shan Chang

Lisa Seoyeon Cho

Paul Jay Choe

Sara Chou

Saiq'a S. Chowdhury

Iee Deun Eden Chung

Caitlin Clingman

Evon Coleman

Rachel Cutler

James Czyz

Mae Decena

Stephanie De Jesús

Jonathan De La Rosa

Carlos De León

Kristie DeLouise

Dawa Dolma

Erica Efstratoudakis

Alexis Dawn Ely

Beril Esin

Sofia Falcon

Francisco Flores

Erik Freer

Ying Joyce Fu

Carina Giacomelli

Ermioni Giakou

Isabel Castillo Guijarro

Alex Hack

Shaobo Han

Paulina Ho

Lauren Hodges

Jenny Holt

Vicky Huang

Jess Hutchison

Joanna Izzo

Hasita Kamlesh

Elizabeth Kenney

SoJung Kim

Jihae Kim

Michelle H. Kim

MJ Minjung Kwon

Alleson Lai

Alfred Lam

Yejin Lee

Michael Leng

Christina Lu

Chris Lunney

Maketa Mabane

Amanda Maduri

Sara Maier

Tara Mann

Jenn Martins

Caroline Mathews

Andrew McCausland

Anna McKendrick

Bryan Meador

Melanie Mencarelli

Julio Montás

Jenni Mällinen

Burak Nehbit

My Nguyen

Jacqueline Oh

Melisa Ozkan

Boram Park

Caroline Partridge

Xing Hai Piao

Brenna Pladsen

Stephanie Porzio

Rocco Rada

Jay Ramirez

Joelle Riffle

Elizabeth Rodriguez

Yvonne Romano

Juan Carlos Santos Andrade

Ariel Scala-Perykasz

Shelly Seroussi

Betty Shang

Leslie Shapiro

Jennifer Haesoo Shim

Jeemin Shim

Amos Shin

Ben Shotwell

Robyn Silev

Nika Simovich

Axel Hammarskiöld Spendrup

Lesley Sakinah Steele

Naomi Sundberg

Britt Tapsall

Sabina Telagis

Daniel Bogre Udell

Azalea Vaseghi

Will Warner

Courtney Wells

Belinda Whiteman

Bryce Williams

Anita Wong

Chu-yi Wu

Giselle Nari Wynn

Katherine Yaksich

Kyungwon Yang

Emily Zhong

Michael Zoppo