Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2024

The Futurist Identity Playbook
Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

The Futurist Identity Playbook is a conceptual project that initiates a discussion about identity in the digital age. Amid waves of overstimulation from media and technological advancements, blurred lines between the physical and digital realms have caused this generation to lose sight of and express what lies ahead. This project aims to inspire the audience with socio-philosophical concepts surrounding the individual and identity, alongside multimedia creations crafted with the assistance of AI, prompting audiences to envision a conclusion for a more equitable and harmonious future.

There are two parts to this project: Mundane Objects and Neo Identity. The former explores everyday objects in search of individuality, envisioning a future trend of collecting trivial objects modeled in 3D. These objects are showcased in a fictional 3D set that draws connections to symbiosis, exploring fungi as a metaphor to establish harmonious, equal ontological relationships with the environment and a rejection of anthropocentric values.

The latter, Neo Identity, launches a quest into digital representation for authenticity and individualism using AI and avatars. With powerful tools and technologies, it creates a paradoxical coexistence. The series of photorealistic AI-generated images envision a trend toward freedom in identity crafting in cyberspace, responding to individualism by foreseeing a tendency of avatars as extensions of us in real life. By joining Haraway’s The Cyborg Manifesto, it theorizes an optimistic outlook, utilizing futuristic technology to fulfill authenticity in embodying and creating absurd and self-contradictory ideas.

Sera Aksoy

Faye Arranz

Shravani Bagawde

Han Bao

Iryna Baran

Zein Bdeir

Victoria Beyrard

Anna Blyumenkrants

Tatiana Boccone

Megan Brill

Andrea Chang

Longcan (Hugo) Chao

Jolene Chen

Yu Tung Chen

Yuntong Chen

Loki Chow

Hong Jet Chua

Erin May Cochanco

Janet Delavan

Gayoung Do

Fang Dong

Julia Du

Manan Dua

Colin Elmer

Millie Faber

Siyao Fang

Noah Farjani

Hina Fernstrom

Leslie Fonseca

Sarahi Garcia

Amanda Guo

Charlotte Hailstone

Jieun Han

Mary Hatcher

Elliana Hau

William Hsu

Olivia Hu

Grace Huang

Jung Hwangbo

Krishika Jain

Yoo-Jin Jang

Janice Ji

Wenjie Ji

Eneya Joshua

Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

Maya Kalinowski

Jasmine Kan

Nabeeha Khalid

Palakh Khetrapal

Jessie Kil

Hope Kim

Hye Yoon Kim

Jenny JaeMin Kim

Lindsay Kim

Aarya Kini

Claudia Kok

Vidhi Kontham

Themis Kung

Hoi Man Kwok

Katherine Lam

Camille Le Bars

Haylee Lee

Minjae Lee

Stacey Lee

Chenxiao Li

Vivian Liu

Sarah Ma

Rosie Mai

Kamryn McKenna

Haley Moore

Graeme Mounsey

Syrus Mow

Viviann Nguyen

Chloé Nini

Smitee Oberoi

Talita Ozkok

Surya Pande

Shruti Pathak

Kelly Peng

Aayushi Pitta

Zoey Poole

Kiara Putrilia

Anjali Raju

Rand Rivera

Virajini Sanghai

Sofia Santana Arrezola

Noor Selim

Anna Sham

Lakeisha Esthetique Sharonina

Carly Shelton

Mengqi Shen

Vanessa Shimon

Alex Vinicius Silva

Arjun Sivaprakasam Thamilarasan

Hajin Son

Yi Song

Alexander Soukakos

Aarya Srikumar

Hannah Suh

Yuka Tamura

Cynthia Huiwen Tan

Sidhya Tikku

Raquel Trevino

Sophie Tsang

Gianna Waldron

Haotian Wang

Yi Wang

Yichen Wang

Yingjie Wang

Victoria Winter

Sage Won

Sora Wong

Shiyao Wu

Tong Wu

Qian Xiang

Faith Xue

Tong Yu

Helen Zhang

Jinyi Zhang

Yixiao Zhao

Yufan Zhao

Haiyu Zhou

Yining Zhou

Feiya Zuo