Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2024

The Reverie Rooms
Smitee Oberoi

At 12, I wanted to fit in so badly that I grew up ridiculously fast, scoring my skin to render out the forsaken youth. At 17, I was locked inside my mind, taking eternal residence in my room, trapped under blankets and lost hope. At 21, I’m stepping out into the world, making up for the childhood I was once so eager to get rid of and embracing independence.

Each era of my life was wildly different from the last; with such complexity, it became increasingly difficult to fathom the intricacies of my mind. I needed to explore it visually, and that’s where the idea of The Reverie Rooms originated.

The Reverie Rooms is a rendition of my mindscape in an explorable, 360° space. To promote the exploration of my mind while allowing its complexities to shine, the rooms play on carnival tropes—presenting the mindscape as a full-fledged, fantastical escapade, translating the ups and downs and functional anomalies of carnivals into a masquerade of metamorphosis. It guides you through the experience, each element representing a different era of my mind: balloons representing the bubble of innocence, stalls offering ideas and whims, a love tester measuring mental health recovery, and more!

While The Reverie Rooms is based on my life, it strives to promote acceptance and understanding of the evolution of anyone’s identity—be it through mental anguish or true happiness. It reimagines the correlation between mental and physical space by digitally morphing 3D space to depict the 5D reveries of the conscious mind.

Sera Aksoy

Faye Arranz

Shravani Bagawde

Han Bao

Iryna Baran

Zein Bdeir

Victoria Beyrard

Anna Blyumenkrants

Tatiana Boccone

Megan Brill

Andrea Chang

Longcan (Hugo) Chao

Jolene Chen

Yu Tung Chen

Yuntong Chen

Loki Chow

Hong Jet Chua

Erin May Cochanco

Janet Delavan

Gayoung Do

Fang Dong

Julia Du

Manan Dua

Colin Elmer

Millie Faber

Siyao Fang

Noah Farjani

Hina Fernstrom

Leslie Fonseca

Sarahi Garcia

Amanda Guo

Charlotte Hailstone

Jieun Han

Mary Hatcher

Elliana Hau

William Hsu

Olivia Hu

Grace Huang

Jung Hwangbo

Krishika Jain

Yoo-Jin Jang

Janice Ji

Wenjie Ji

Eneya Joshua

Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

Maya Kalinowski

Jasmine Kan

Nabeeha Khalid

Palakh Khetrapal

Jessie Kil

Hope Kim

Hye Yoon Kim

Jenny JaeMin Kim

Lindsay Kim

Aarya Kini

Claudia Kok

Vidhi Kontham

Themis Kung

Hoi Man Kwok

Katherine Lam

Camille Le Bars

Haylee Lee

Minjae Lee

Stacey Lee

Chenxiao Li

Vivian Liu

Sarah Ma

Rosie Mai

Kamryn McKenna

Haley Moore

Graeme Mounsey

Syrus Mow

Viviann Nguyen

Chloé Nini

Smitee Oberoi

Talita Ozkok

Surya Pande

Shruti Pathak

Kelly Peng

Aayushi Pitta

Zoey Poole

Kiara Putrilia

Anjali Raju

Rand Rivera

Virajini Sanghai

Sofia Santana Arrezola

Noor Selim

Anna Sham

Lakeisha Esthetique Sharonina

Carly Shelton

Mengqi Shen

Vanessa Shimon

Alex Vinicius Silva

Arjun Sivaprakasam Thamilarasan

Hajin Son

Yi Song

Alexander Soukakos

Aarya Srikumar

Hannah Suh

Yuka Tamura

Cynthia Huiwen Tan

Sidhya Tikku

Raquel Trevino

Sophie Tsang

Gianna Waldron

Haotian Wang

Yi Wang

Yichen Wang

Yingjie Wang

Victoria Winter

Sage Won

Sora Wong

Shiyao Wu

Tong Wu

Qian Xiang

Faith Xue

Tong Yu

Helen Zhang

Jinyi Zhang

Yixiao Zhao

Yufan Zhao

Haiyu Zhou

Yining Zhou

Feiya Zuo