Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2024

I Could Not Resist
Stacey Lee

Within a capitalist system that feeds off of hopelessness, joy is resistance. The ability to imagine a better future, to believe in a life where happiness underlies our everyday notions, becomes a radical act. It is a spark of hope that signals to oppressive forces that they have not won.

I Could Not Resist is a reflection of my attempts to resist the too-seductive forces of depression. During a time where I could not fathom doing anything but lay in bed, I pushed with brute force to continue creating. I wanted to materialize this Sisyphean experience into a sculptural and interactive exhibit. The first part was a challenge to create a book a day, allowing myself to be abstract in what a book could be. I focused on materiality, oftentimes grabbing from my surroundings. Thus, each book becomes a reflection of my consumption and waste. The second part of my thesis is a freehand crocheted blanket, made using a technique called filet crochet—a historically laborious process used to create lace designs. With changing directions and varying font sizes, the blanket reads my sporadic thoughts of self-doubt and guilt.

My thesis does not come to the satisfying conclusion of me finding light in dark times. It reveals cycles of guilt and shame as I endlessly pivot and repeat, unable to come up with an idea that is “good enough.” But its existence is proof of a willingness to do something—even if it seems to be for no reason.

Sera Aksoy

Faye Arranz

Shravani Bagawde

Han Bao

Iryna Baran

Zein Bdeir

Victoria Beyrard

Anna Blyumenkrants

Tatiana Boccone

Megan Brill

Andrea Chang

Longcan (Hugo) Chao

Jolene Chen

Yu Tung Chen

Yuntong Chen

Loki Chow

Hong Jet Chua

Erin May Cochanco

Janet Delavan

Gayoung Do

Fang Dong

Julia Du

Manan Dua

Colin Elmer

Millie Faber

Siyao Fang

Noah Farjani

Hina Fernstrom

Leslie Fonseca

Sarahi Garcia

Amanda Guo

Charlotte Hailstone

Jieun Han

Mary Hatcher

Elliana Hau

William Hsu

Olivia Hu

Grace Huang

Jung Hwangbo

Krishika Jain

Yoo-Jin Jang

Janice Ji

Wenjie Ji

Eneya Joshua

Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

Maya Kalinowski

Jasmine Kan

Nabeeha Khalid

Palakh Khetrapal

Jessie Kil

Hope Kim

Hye Yoon Kim

Jenny JaeMin Kim

Lindsay Kim

Aarya Kini

Claudia Kok

Vidhi Kontham

Themis Kung

Hoi Man Kwok

Katherine Lam

Camille Le Bars

Haylee Lee

Minjae Lee

Stacey Lee

Chenxiao Li

Vivian Liu

Sarah Ma

Rosie Mai

Kamryn McKenna

Haley Moore

Graeme Mounsey

Syrus Mow

Viviann Nguyen

Chloé Nini

Smitee Oberoi

Talita Ozkok

Surya Pande

Shruti Pathak

Kelly Peng

Aayushi Pitta

Zoey Poole

Kiara Putrilia

Anjali Raju

Rand Rivera

Virajini Sanghai

Sofia Santana Arrezola

Noor Selim

Anna Sham

Lakeisha Esthetique Sharonina

Carly Shelton

Mengqi Shen

Vanessa Shimon

Alex Vinicius Silva

Arjun Sivaprakasam Thamilarasan

Hajin Son

Yi Song

Alexander Soukakos

Aarya Srikumar

Hannah Suh

Yuka Tamura

Cynthia Huiwen Tan

Sidhya Tikku

Raquel Trevino

Sophie Tsang

Gianna Waldron

Haotian Wang

Yi Wang

Yichen Wang

Yingjie Wang

Victoria Winter

Sage Won

Sora Wong

Shiyao Wu

Tong Wu

Qian Xiang

Faith Xue

Tong Yu

Helen Zhang

Jinyi Zhang

Yixiao Zhao

Yufan Zhao

Haiyu Zhou

Yining Zhou

Feiya Zuo