Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2024

Src-txt is a new way of reading and writing that embraces the multimedia nature of information on the Internet. It is a tool that allows writers to gather resources of any media type, link these references to their writing, and dynamically generate an interactive web article, known as a src-txt. In a src-txt, externally cited work exists within the article itself, allowing you to seamlessly explore referenced content while reading through the main body of text.

The tool has three modes: Gather, Draft and Present. In Gather, resources of all kinds can be aggregated and annotated in a bulletin board-like environment. In Draft, a composition can be written and edited, and resources from the Gather environment can be dynamically linked to pieces of text. Finally, in Present, an interactive article is dynamically generated, which can then be published and read online.

Src-txt is designed to evolve the act of reading in response to the current media landscape of the Internet, where information is increasingly exchanged through mediums like TikToks, Tweets and Instagram Stories. Their prominence indicates that images and videos, which are by nature more engaging, have overtaken static text as our preferred mode of communication, and that the future of "content" will be bound by our weakening attention spans.

Instead of reducing external references to static words, or distorting the text with numerous outward-bound hyperlinks, src-txt uses them to enrich the main body of writing, producing in turn a new kind of reading experience that is exploratory and multimedia by nature.

Sera Aksoy

Faye Arranz

Shravani Bagawde

Han Bao

Iryna Baran

Zein Bdeir

Victoria Beyrard

Anna Blyumenkrants

Tatiana Boccone

Megan Brill

Andrea Chang

Longcan (Hugo) Chao

Jolene Chen

Yu Tung Chen

Yuntong Chen

Loki Chow

Hong Jet Chua

Erin May Cochanco

Janet Delavan

Gayoung Do

Fang Dong

Julia Du

Manan Dua

Colin Elmer

Millie Faber

Siyao Fang

Noah Farjani

Hina Fernstrom

Leslie Fonseca

Sarahi Garcia

Amanda Guo

Charlotte Hailstone

Jieun Han

Mary Hatcher

Elliana Hau

William Hsu

Olivia Hu

Grace Huang

Jung Hwangbo

Krishika Jain

Yoo-Jin Jang

Janice Ji

Wenjie Ji

Eneya Joshua

Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

Maya Kalinowski

Jasmine Kan

Nabeeha Khalid

Palakh Khetrapal

Jessie Kil

Hope Kim

Hye Yoon Kim

Jenny JaeMin Kim

Lindsay Kim

Aarya Kini

Claudia Kok

Vidhi Kontham

Themis Kung

Hoi Man Kwok

Katherine Lam

Camille Le Bars

Haylee Lee

Minjae Lee

Stacey Lee

Chenxiao Li

Vivian Liu

Sarah Ma

Rosie Mai

Kamryn McKenna

Haley Moore

Graeme Mounsey

Syrus Mow

Viviann Nguyen

ChloƩ Nini

Smitee Oberoi

Talita Ozkok

Surya Pande

Shruti Pathak

Kelly Peng

Aayushi Pitta

Zoey Poole

Kiara Putrilia

Anjali Raju

Rand Rivera

Virajini Sanghai

Sofia Santana Arrezola

Noor Selim

Anna Sham

Lakeisha Esthetique Sharonina

Carly Shelton

Mengqi Shen

Vanessa Shimon

Alex Vinicius Silva

Arjun Sivaprakasam Thamilarasan

Hajin Son

Yi Song

Alexander Soukakos

Aarya Srikumar

Hannah Suh

Yuka Tamura

Cynthia Huiwen Tan

Sidhya Tikku

Raquel Trevino

Sophie Tsang

Gianna Waldron

Haotian Wang

Yi Wang

Yichen Wang

Yingjie Wang

Victoria Winter

Sage Won

Sora Wong

Shiyao Wu

Tong Wu

Qian Xiang

Faith Xue

Tong Yu

Helen Zhang

Jinyi Zhang

Yixiao Zhao

Yufan Zhao

Haiyu Zhou

Yining Zhou

Feiya Zuo