Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2024

Caught in Thought
Faye Arranz

Type design is the art of treating typography to communicate a message. How can the treatment of type be pushed in a virtual reality with almost no real-world constraints? With this in mind, Caught in Thought is a poem that exists as a virtual immersive experience that utilizes a combination of typefaces, animation, scale, sound, color, and light to convey the emotional qualities of the words. These design choices were then used as a foundation to the laser-etched interactive book of the same text. As users experience the poem, hopefully they realize that the story was just a daydream. This interpretation inspired the fabric bookcases that represent that dream-like feeling.

I began the project by considering the use of keywords that don’t necessarily incite imagery, but rather an emotion. Then, to design for a virtual world requires not only creating in a new medium with new programs and processes, but with a different 3-dimensional mindset. To develop this virtual translation of my poem, I first had to follow a method that included a continuous cycle of working between physical and digital iterations. My models demonstrate part of this approach, in which I was able to physically understand the dimensionality of my assets for the VR version, producing a reference for me to 3D-model from. Storyboards further clarified movement, allowing me to think two dimensionally for a three dimensional environment. As virtual reality technology continues to evolve exponentially, finding methods to design in this world are integral to not be left behind.

Sera Aksoy

Faye Arranz

Shravani Bagawde

Han Bao

Iryna Baran

Zein Bdeir

Victoria Beyrard

Anna Blyumenkrants

Tatiana Boccone

Megan Brill

Andrea Chang

Longcan (Hugo) Chao

Jolene Chen

Yu Tung Chen

Yuntong Chen

Loki Chow

Hong Jet Chua

Erin May Cochanco

Janet Delavan

Gayoung Do

Fang Dong

Julia Du

Manan Dua

Colin Elmer

Millie Faber

Siyao Fang

Noah Farjani

Hina Fernstrom

Leslie Fonseca

Sarahi Garcia

Amanda Guo

Charlotte Hailstone

Jieun Han

Mary Hatcher

Elliana Hau

William Hsu

Olivia Hu

Grace Huang

Jung Hwangbo

Krishika Jain

Yoo-Jin Jang

Janice Ji

Wenjie Ji

Eneya Joshua

Yung Ching (Aurora) Juang

Maya Kalinowski

Jasmine Kan

Nabeeha Khalid

Palakh Khetrapal

Jessie Kil

Hope Kim

Hye Yoon Kim

Jenny JaeMin Kim

Lindsay Kim

Aarya Kini

Claudia Kok

Vidhi Kontham

Themis Kung

Hoi Man Kwok

Katherine Lam

Camille Le Bars

Haylee Lee

Minjae Lee

Stacey Lee

Chenxiao Li

Vivian Liu

Sarah Ma

Rosie Mai

Kamryn McKenna

Haley Moore

Graeme Mounsey

Syrus Mow

Viviann Nguyen

Chloé Nini

Smitee Oberoi

Talita Ozkok

Surya Pande

Shruti Pathak

Kelly Peng

Aayushi Pitta

Zoey Poole

Kiara Putrilia

Anjali Raju

Rand Rivera

Virajini Sanghai

Sofia Santana Arrezola

Noor Selim

Anna Sham

Lakeisha Esthetique Sharonina

Carly Shelton

Mengqi Shen

Vanessa Shimon

Alex Vinicius Silva

Arjun Sivaprakasam Thamilarasan

Hajin Son

Yi Song

Alexander Soukakos

Aarya Srikumar

Hannah Suh

Yuka Tamura

Cynthia Huiwen Tan

Sidhya Tikku

Raquel Trevino

Sophie Tsang

Gianna Waldron

Haotian Wang

Yi Wang

Yichen Wang

Yingjie Wang

Victoria Winter

Sage Won

Sora Wong

Shiyao Wu

Tong Wu

Qian Xiang

Faith Xue

Tong Yu

Helen Zhang

Jinyi Zhang

Yixiao Zhao

Yufan Zhao

Haiyu Zhou

Yining Zhou

Feiya Zuo