Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Let's Learn Baybayin
Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Baybayin is a pre-colonial, pre-Philippine written language. It was used by the natives of the archipelago in the 15th century, until it was replaced with the Latin alphabet when the Spanish arrived. Recently, it has gained attention from the Philippine nation and has been perceived as culturally significant. As of April 23, 2018, the House Committee of Basic Education and Culture approved a bill to make Baybayin the national writing system of the Philippines.

While it’s great the country is reclaiming this written language, there are a few problems that come along with this proposal. Many people don’t know how to read and write it, let alone know what Baybayin is. Others want to learn, but don’t know where to start.

To combat these issues, I created educational materials targeting children. For ages 3–5, I created an “ABC” book using the Baybayin letters. This helps children phonetically and visually recognize the letterforms. The next book, intended for ages 4–6, is for learning how to put letters together to create words. For the last stage of language learning, I created a workbook that allows young readers to practice writing the letters.

The goal of this project is to educate the youth of the Philippines, so when the time comes, they are ready to live in a world where Baybayin is used daily. Older people who want to learn the language may also use this educational set, because ultimately it is created for any age, making the process easy and approachable.

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski