Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Not about Bread
Analuisa Corrigan

Not about Bread is a book that touches on the modern relationship between food and its ingredients. The topic of bread is a merely a vehicle for displaying differences between mass-produced foods and homemade whole foods. 

The book includes the 1841 essay written by American transcendentalist philosopher Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Self-Reliance,” that both supports and challenges these ideas. The book uses a tripartite structure to compare, contrast, and combine the reality of three different types of bread: homemade, Orrowheat, and Wonder bread.

The book is bound into three individual sections, one for each bread. Each section is composed of an image essay, each ingredient’s chemical structure, and a portion of the Emerson text. This idea of reliance is further developed with text and images strictly conforming to a nine-column grid, creating a parallel experience for each section, yet relying on one another to communicate the complete idea. To demonstrate this simultaneous interdependence and autonomy, the book has moments where images common to all sections overlap to create large panoramic spaces.

The typeface is Akzidenz Grotesk, a sans-serif originally made for commercial use and general-purpose in the late 1800s. This typeface, although seemingly simple, has been adapted and re-released over the years to accommodate metal type and digital technologies. Bread, and food as a whole, has endured a similar experience. The food we eat today has evolved to be commercially commodified and mass produced for convenience and control. This book seeks to draw an analog to these systems: complex and layered, essential, and interconnected.

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski