Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

baahn gwái baahn máah
Angela Yang

On June 31st, 1997, Hong Kong gained independence from Great Britain. Only for a day. When Britain and China agreed to the Sino-British Joint Declaration, the “one country, two systems” policy emerged, enabling an exceptional degree of autonomy for Hong Kong for fifty years after 1997. While only two decades have gone by, the Chinese government has slowly begun implementing its authority over Hong Kong—a series of controversial events erupted when a pro-Beijing candidate was elected as Hong Kong’s Chief Executive in 2017. Today, Beijing has plans to change Hong Kong’s education system from Cantonese to Mandarin, and with Cantonese being the international hub’s national language, this erasure is highly predicted to alter the entire foundation of Hong Kong’s rich and historically traditional culture.

baahn gwái baahn máah (扮鬼扮馬) aims to preserve, educate and show love to the Cantonese language in a book format. I present a series of articles and interviews regarding the political actions by Beijing and the repercussions that may lead. A collection of Cantonese idioms are also showcased to represent the authentic and dynamic voice of the populace. The objective of this exploration is to contrast the humbleness of colloquialisms with larger political forces. In addition, there is a section on the exploration of Cantonese identity through Cantonese Opera in which the text highlights the opera’s cultural importance and repression on the language. Through introducing this ongoing turmoil, the book aspires to bridge the gap from East to West.

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski