Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Eric Lish

Warren is a newsprint publication which collects a series of diverse writings sourced from the Internet. This work is conceived as an interdependent text which is to be experienced as if you're traveling between web pages. The branching structure emphasizes relationships between seemingly isolated events, people, and ideas. Collecting symbols and passages from a multitude of topics, identities, powers, and sources I aim to pronounce the surprising relationships between things. Symbols act as hyperlinks for readers to recognize the similarities between different passages throughout Warren. Through their use initial views of these symbols’ meaning changes as the reader connects them with other symbols and passages they are tied to.

Warren fits within the tradition of artists who convey the hidden connections between disparate societal forces. In the film Hypernormalization, Adam Curtis weaves a historical narrative which connects Patti Smith to Neoliberalism to the rise of Islamic Fundamentalism. The Assemblage Theory developed by Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari speaks of the interconnectedness which Warren reflects in metaphorical terms, characterizing our social world as a mosaic or a web. This metaphor derived from the Assemblage Theory provides the groundwork for Warren’s layout, each passage acts as a thread in the fabric of Warren as a patchwork of information. Through Warren and the systems within it, I aim to pronounce our world’s complex totality and its connections that weave it together.

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski