Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Adam Johansen

In this time of social media domination, to be successful in any industry depends on the thorough use of these platforms. Nada is a water beverage that will never go to market, yet it is designed and conveyed as if it will. It is a faux brand experiment with the intent to amass a loyal social media following in two months, through a cohesive and consistent social media design and presence. It is an experiment demonstrating the impact of branding and marketing produced with minimal resources, using Instagram as the primary platform.

The brand identity, product design, and marketing collateral of Nada are all considered for maximum exposure on this platform, aimed at young, health-conscious, brand-loyal, and aesthetically attuned individuals. By employing beauty brand vernacular, trending hashtags, a bright “insta-worthy” blue and GT Walsheim, a computer produced typeface with smooth curves, to portray a sense of modernism and ease of readability as the brand’s typeface of choice, paired with visuals of minimalist workspaces and natural environments. The identity evokes a youthful and vibrant, yet sophisticated lifestyle that people desire.

Nada exposes the deceptive tactics which increasingly drive consumer society in an ever-expanding technological climate. This project intends to raise awareness of our consumerist society and how it permeates the world of advertising and the products we purchase daily, encouraging us to make more informed consumer decisions.

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski