Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Holly Parkin

ROYGBIV is a journey through the human experience of color. This project began as an investigation into perspectivism, looking at how differing viewpoints shape our understanding of the singular “truth.” This evolved into a more specific exploration – color, through a perspectivist lens.

I researched the cultural significance and associations of colors across the world, gathering images, texts, and even idioms to show how the various viewpoints on certain colors may be the same, or total opposites. In addition to this research, I conducted interviews with random people about what certain colors evoke for them, offering a real-world context in tandem with the more generalized research. This was compiled into a book which takes readers on a visual journey through the spectrum, while the interview responses comprise a running commentary at the bottom. I also included a proposed concept for an installation that takes the viewer into that same experience through audio-space immersion. In this installation, light fills a room and shifts through the spectrum slowly, audio recordings of the interview responses playing over the visuals, like a stream of consciousness.

Ultimately I believe that taking something like color, something that is so vital, but also so commonplace, to our lived experience (as well as a human construct on its own), allows us to understand each other’s behavior on a new level. If we can respect the way one person chooses to wear red, why not understand and respect other aspects of their cultural existence?

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski