Parsons School of Design
BFA Communication Design
Thesis 2019

Procell Archive
Coco Wohrle

Procell, a vintage shop tucked away on Delancey Street, opened its doors in 2016 and has been a hub of knowledge ever since. Expertly curated by Brian Procell and Jessica Gonsalves, the shop is filled with high-end sportswear, influential designer pieces, and vintage t-shirts that capture some of pop culture’s seminal moments. 

The items in the shop stem from subcultures that Brian admired growing up: “. . . punk rockers, downtown artist, or graffiti writers.” The authentic direct conduit to the subcultures is just one of the reasons why Procell is the vintage mecca. Browsing the shop is like reading a history text book, due to the attention to detail and an eye for quality and design that illuminates the walls and racks. 

The Procell Archive Catalogue is a curated collection, from the private warehouse and archive, of 100 vintage items with a focus on the 1980s, 1990s and early 2000s that notably have left a powerful mark on culture. Heavily influenced by Vitsoe’s 1973 catalogue, and Braun’s minimal and clean design, the archive has been constructed from a rigid grid system and fundamental type.

In the catalogue, an aged and relic 1980s Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art T-Shirt follows an effortlessly minimal designed Cifra 3 Clock, circa 1965, which is a part of the Museum of Modern Art’s permanent design collection. These relationships create a parallel of the shops overall retail experience, resulting in a powerful dive into pop-culture and design that gives readers a greater understanding of the moments and designers that have molded and shaped on modern day. 

Yasmeen AlAyoub

Maria Badasian

Jenny Barroll

Bhavika Bhatia

Leehe Bok

Lauren April Brady

Elisa Bustos

Gabrielle Cantamessa

Jo Castanon

Ana Sofia Murillo Cernicchiaro

Sherleen Chen

Tiange Chen

Dahee Choi

Carol Chong

Olivia Chow

Matthew Chu

Lily Clempson

Analuisa Corrigan

Gaurika Dalal

Iyana Martin Diaz

Sylvia Epstein

Maria Farah

Vitoria Schweitzer Fiore

Jamie Fong

Bentzion Goldman

Sarah Hennessy

Irene Hernandez-Gaona

Sara Hilany

Allen Hu

Gufeng Huang

Julia Isman

Erika Jaquez

Moonnyung Jo

Adam Johansen

Souraya Jureidini

Cynthia Kamata-Banks

Zarrin Karimi

Ta Suranart Kasitipradit

Anastasia Khadivi

Peggy S. Khammanotham

Jiwon Kim

Minhae Kim

Sarah Kim

Soyeon (Chloe) Kim

Soyeon Kim

Esther Klingbiel

Rose Kramer

Clare Lagomarsino

Julia Lassen

Chloe Lee

Jahyun Lee

Nicole Lee

Ye Eun Alison Lee

Leqi Liang

Chia Ying Lin

Chih-Yi Lin

Eric Lish

Clarissa Losciale

Eileen Lu

Cobey Lusinger

Maria Magnani

Miguel Marcos

Gaebrielle McIntosh

Sarah McNutt

Mitali Mehta

Vincent Merle

Mitali Nopany

Eugene Ong Bang Jun

Diana Pak

Seongjin Park

Holly Parkin

Annika Phillips

Olimpia Pignatti-Morano

Marie Poncin

Jin Qian

Jack Rieger

Kenisha Bijoux Rullan

Joshua Ryan

Bushra Sarker

Amy Schultz

Nico Siy

Leah Slava

Demi Isabela Straulino

Anisha Subberwal

Erica Tagliarino

Cristina Cepeda Thielmann

Elisa Tordjmann

Kyle Tranquilli

Yasemin Varlik

Varun Vig

Diana Vivar

Abby Wang

Yifei Wang

Yuqi Wang

Coco Wohrle

Angela Yang

Stella Yen

Tiffany Ying

Ingrid Yiu

Kyle Yu

Celestine Yuan

Seoyoung Yun

Maria Zabolotnaya

Amanda Zaldivar

Yinglin Zeng

Junhao Zhang

Limber Lingya Zhang

Haitong Zheng

Karolina Zuchowski